Bell’s Smitten Golden Rye Ale

Bell's Smitten Golden Rye AleBeer No. 64 – Bell’s Smitten Golden Rye Ale

It starts, as it usually doesn’t, with something special. What the hell are these little pollen dusts doing in my glass, and why are they turning me on? Am I drinking beer today or chicken stock from a Michelin starred kitchen?

These Rye Beers have put me on full tilt. Like Emmy Rossum, I can’t stop thinking about them.

So I let this brew with the IPA nose sit for a few weeks before granting myself the privilege of tasting it. The moment had to be right, as it is now. A near Spring day, momma bear and little b napping, and little ol’ me with nothing to do except relax with a pint that smells like cantaloupe, coriander and pine.

It’s not my favorite in this style, no. But it is a decent effort, highlighted by a refreshing weight. It’s rare to find a cool-your-mouth brew with enough body that you have to be reminded to swallow. Maybe I’m overreacting to last night. Or maybe not. I think it really does have that balance.

When the lips meet the glass there’s also rye bread (more obviously than with others in this style), bitter honey, dried leaves and mostly there roundness that’s sullied only by the absence of a citrus, ideally tangerine, note.

Beeradvocate Rating: 85

ratebeer Rating: 87

Hayward Abbey Rating: 85

Leave a Reply

