Hoppin’ Frog Hopped-Up Goose Juice Rye IPA

Beer No. 55 – Hoppin’ Frog Hopped-Up Goose Juice Rye IPA

No, I didn’t get a case of Westvleteren XII, but I did snag this limited-issue, better-than-expected Rye IPA from Akron.

STYLE: American IPA

ABV: 7%

LOOK: The kind of beer you want to drink. The kind of beer you need to drink. Orange and mellow maroon with a deceptively medium body that from some angles boasts a jelloy consistency. I wish there was more to the head that fizzles quickly as the carbonation, what there is of it, races to the top.

NOSE: Stinky cheese, heavy rye, dog park, and pent-up pine. A more sophisticated Rogue Dead Guy Ale.

MOUTH: It might be the mood I’m in. I don’t miss the hops, even though I was promised – indeed, induced by – an aggressive dose. It’s smooth, earthy, smooth. And I think I’m starting to fall for All Things Rye. There’s more here of course: grass, chives, and balance. The texture, among other things, will bring me back, somewhere in the fine line between wholesome and chewy. Excellent.

Beeradvocate Rating: 85

ratebeer Rating: 98

Hayward Abbey Rating: 91

Leave a Reply

