Founders Cerise

Beer No. 40 – Founders Cerise

The dreaded fruit beer, it’s like smoking or sex with a six. I know I shouldn’t but I do.

STYLE: Fruit/Vegetable Beer

ABV: 6.5%

LOOK: All it needs is a lemon twist. It has more of a ladies’ night cosmo vibe than any beer I’ve had before. Full cherry and raspberry red, lightly carbonated, and a well-shaken cloudiness. What surprises me the most is the stickiness. This isn’t #9.

NOSE: Um? No cherries? Well, that’s maybe not fair, but really no cherries? I’ll be blunt, it smells mostly like poster board. The kind you present your science fair project with. There is a captive cherry in there somewhere dying to get out, lost, I believe, in the successful desire to balance the maltiness with the tartness.

MOUTH: Soft cherry, red apple peel, and grape skins. Not overwhelming at all, I dig it. It needs a bit more acidity, however. Some lemon hoppiness could do this brew a world of good. I was expecting a shock-and-awe cherry bomb and am happy to report it’s actually quite mild, quite balanced … from a flavor profile. It is, unfortunately, a bit flat on the tongue, again missing some kind of pop. Try it, yes. Love it, eh.

Beeradvocate Rating: 83

ratebeer Rating: 83

Hayward Abbey Rating: 79

Leave a Reply

